I came. I saw. I conquer. – The Malacca Adventure

Standard

I got tired. Stress took its toll. I have to breathe. And so I went out for a while.

I can still remember one of the tee on our old house in Sta. Cruz , scribbling big bold letters M-A-L-A-C-C-A, and a picture that probably shows off the place ( i can’t barely recall, but I know it is white), and ahhh, I told myself this is somewhere south of America. All the while, I was thinking that way. ( face palm!  I love geography and I can remember how I managed to memorize all the capital of countries and currencies as well, but I missed out Malacca. Hahaha )

When you are in Singapore, going to Malacca is pretty much easy and cheap. I did not have any itinerary coz I don’t want to screw my down time moments here. ( oh by the way I am at present typing this inside my lavender room in a very homely guesthouse in the inner city listening to Jason Mraz and pretty much broken hearted. haha ) .

Delima Bus.

Delima Bus.

Yesterday, I Took a bus at Paya Lebar Station in Singapore. I was able to take the first trip in the morning at 8:30. The travel took approximately 4 hours. We had 3 stop overs: Tuas Immigration , Malaysia Immigration and at a food stall/ toilet somewhere in Malaysia ( I can’t be bothered to go down the bus, lazy ass mode has already been ON for few hours.no way highway. )

I was pretending to read this, Then  bumped into the sliding glass door. Welcome to Melaka!

I was pretending to read this, Then bumped into the sliding glass door. Welcome to Melaka!

When I reached Melaka Sentral Terminal, I was able to make it on time for Bus 17 which will take me to the inner city of Melaka. It cost me RM1.30 only (PHP 13.50 / SGD 0.40 ) It is about 15 minutes away from the center. I actually do not know where I should be alighting. I just followed my guts. Asked around. Walked around.Walked again. Walked again some more. I am soaking wet. The sun is burning hot. I am exhausted.

i needed a little low temperature so I went inside a mall before I continue to look for  the guesthouse. I found this nice fountain. lurvette!

i needed a little low temperature so I went inside a mall before I continue to look for the guesthouse. I found this nice fountain. lurvette!

I got lost in alleys like this. No Signs. No street names. But a lot of people who doesn't know the place I am asking them about.

I got lost in alleys like this. No Signs. No street names. But a lot of people who doesn’t know the place I am asking them about.

Finally I found my will-be-home for 2 days and 2 nights- the Lavender Guesthouse. I found it via trip Advisor and Agoda. The reviews were impressive and the owner is half-Pinoy and Half-Malaysian. He showed me around the city on my first night.  Affordable and Clean place, Free breakfast, great people to chat with plus a tour guide as a bonus.

ugh. dont order fries from the McDonald's in front of the Mankhota Parade.

ugh. dont order fries from the McDonald’s in front of the Mankhota Parade.

The Guest house's cozy living room. They Have PS here!

The Guest house’s cozy living room. They Have PS here!

Books left by backpackers- wish i could have stayed longer so i could have read at least one of them.They have lonely planet and nat geo collection!

Books left by backpackers- wish i could have stayed longer so i could have read at least one of them.They have lonely planet and nat geo collection!

checkmate!

checkmate!

I love the place because it is just like a home and I could talk to a lot of amazing people. It widens my perspective about life. It makes me learn a lot. It makes me itch more to travel. Man, This is driving me nuts. How could they travel for a month to even a year? Maybe They won the lottery or something ya? Hehehe. Not really. I guess they just save a lot for something that they really want. Which makes me think. How much would it cost me to buy a few months of my life to travel a portion of this planet? ( I think I should play 4D or TOTO when I get back to Sg. Hahaha )

The Stellar Menara Taming Sari

The Stellar Menara Taming Sari

kids waiting for the revolving disc to go up. go little explorers!

kids waiting for the revolving disc to go up. go little explorers!

A replica of Flor do Mar, Maritime Museum of Malacca.

A replica of Flor do Mar, Maritime Museum of Malacca.

The Melaka River

The Melaka River

The Stadthuys

The Stadthuys

Melaka view from the Bukit St. Paul

Melaka view from the Bukit St. Paul

Jonker Street

Jonker Street

St. Francis Xavier Church

St. Francis Xavier Church

The Melaka Water Wheel

The Melaka Water Wheel

Fort of Malacca

Fort of Malacca

The Famous Chicken rice balls of Melaka.

The Famous Chicken rice balls of Melaka.

ming and peter. Malaysian/Aussie couple I shared the table with. They told me They won't travel alone, just like what I am doing. =D I wrote them a list of places to visit in the Philippines.  I made new friends!

ming and peter. Malaysian/Aussie couple I shared the table with. They told me They won’t travel alone, just like what I am doing. =D I wrote them a list of places to visit in the Philippines. I made new friends!

I got all my finances tracked. I see to it that I stay within the budget ( you know how stingy i am. hahaha ) I was able to visit museums and museums and more museums, Galleries and heritage centers, churches, souvenir shops and I was able to find a portion of me as well. ( I must say, you should spend a lot of time with yourself more often than you should. Trust me, It lightens everything up. Plus, add the walking-under-the-rain part. which I did . Just like in a movie. play the instrumental music in this part please. hahaha)

I wanted to stay few more days here but I have to be back in my fine city by tomorrow to condition myself for work again the next day. I wasn’t able to visit all the attractions here but it Doesn’t matter. I can always come back.

I guess this is a bucket List Item Checked? Hmmm Where Should I go next? I am thrilled! I guess I have to pack my stuff now before I hit the sack. I will be early tomorrow. I can still remember the Malacca Tee in our old House, now I am wearing my very own Tee ( I got it for an amazing price of RM6 /SGD2.40/PHP82 ) and I am in the very Historical Place Itself, and yes It is not in South America. Hahaha

Terimakasi Melaka.

2 responses »

  1. Hi. I’m Tourism Management student. I would like to ask permission from u to use a few of ur photo in this entry for my assignment. tq :)

Leave a Reply

